家庭健身:如何使锻炼成为家庭事务

这位老爸越变越健康 —— 而且最后还有惊喜收获

我想要监测自己的心率,因为我的心率似乎较快,担心自己有潜在心脏问题。

Neil W.

美国

  • 健康状况

Neil 对他人的忠告

Neil W. 的儿子 Oliver 今年 15 岁。Neil 的父亲心脏病发作去世那年,Neil 也正好 15 岁。自从发现自己遗传了父亲的高胆固醇后,Neil 踏上了自己的健身救赎之路,他决定要想办法和妻子 Marie、九岁的女儿 Emily 还有 Oliver 快乐地生活在一起。“我相对擅长运动,但是两年前我对运动追踪设备产生兴趣,购买了一部 Fitbit Surge,” 51 岁的 Neil 说,他是一位退居二线的娱乐部经理。“我想要监测自己的心率,因为我的心率似乎较快,担心自己有潜在心脏问题。”每分钟 73 次——Neil 的静息心率 (RHR) 似乎对于中年人来说还算正常,但却远不够理想:{ut1}Journal of the American College of Cardiology{ut2} 在 2007 年曾针对男性进行调查,发现 70-75 次 RHR 心率的人群突发心脏病的概率是每分钟 60 次 RHR 心率的人群的 2.5 倍。低心率意味着心脏更为强壮——如果你的心脏在每次跳动时能够泵出更多血液,跳动频率就会减慢。

当 Marie 和 Oliver 看到 Neil 是如此喜爱他的 Fitbit 智能设备时,他们也各自买了一部 (Charge) ,并开始全家计步运动和改变习惯,看他们在一周内能达到怎样的成绩。他们首先调整了早晨通勤的方式。以前都是开车送孩子上学,现在一家四口决定带上家里的小狗一起步行去。“一开始我们都非常开心看着小狗奔跑蹦跳的样子,第一次看到所有这些路上的风景,”Neil 说。

随着他们的步数增加,Neil 意识到一家人从步行中得到更加重要的东西:团结。“单程 20 至 25 分钟的时间里,我们都在一起。这或许听上去没什么,但是你有多少时间是全心全意与一家人度过的呢?我们步行时,既没有手机、也没有游戏和体育节目——只是四个人一直在走啊走。”

“我的孩子们突然得到了我们全神贯注的陪伴,而在某种程度上,我的妻子和我也是一样,”Neil 说。“我们发现这是我们相互之间更深一层的呵护和理解。很多人认为运动智能设备只是用来计量运动和实现目标。但我和我的家人觉得它的价值远不止于此:在一起的幸福时光是千金不换的。”

Neil 不仅感到前所未有的满足,健康也显然得到改善。他的静止心率现已降至每分钟 60 次。他的妻子 Marie 已减去 6.5 公斤,状态非常好。“在这个世上没有比被爱以及表示你的爱意感觉更好的了。我们受益良多。”

让健身成为日常

Neil 和他的妻子每次接送孩子都会步行。去城里吃饭,他们也会选择步行。Neil 说他们如果专门去健身房健身,反而很难达到这样的运动量。“我过去经常去健身房,但是健身房里大家无法结伴。15 岁那年,我年仅 43 岁的父亲就匆匆离世了,这给了我很大的震撼,我认识到——与家人朋友在一起比什么都重要。”

晚餐后运动

Neil 在后院立起了羽毛球网,每周有几个晚上一家人会在这里打打球。“就像饭后点心一样,”他说。”我印象深刻的是有一次我儿子发了一个漂亮的球,我女儿回击然后我打飞了——招式很漂亮,不过摔了个狗啃泥!大家爆笑的同时,再次感到一家人的融洽!”更别提对于健康的巨大益处了。

最后,享受骑行(或步行)

“我们每天沿着滨海道去学校的路上,看见很多父母开车载着孩子绝尘而去,而我们却能够欣赏到美丽的大海,一路上有说有笑,”Neil 说。“很多人都匆匆忙忙,错过了最重要的东西:我们最爱的人,以及我们与他们共度的时光。”

Neil 对他人的忠告

让健身成为日常

Neil 和他的妻子每次接送孩子都会步行。去城里吃饭,他们也会选择步行。Neil 说他们如果专门去健身房健身,反而很难达到这样的运动量。“我过去经常去健身房,但是健身房里大家无法结伴。15 岁那年,我年仅 43 岁的父亲就匆匆离世了,这给了我很大的震撼,我认识到——与家人朋友在一起比什么都重要。”

晚餐后运动

Neil 在后院立起了羽毛球网,每周有几个晚上一家人会在这里打打球。“就像饭后点心一样,”他说。”我印象深刻的是有一次我儿子发了一个漂亮的球,我女儿回击然后我打飞了——招式很漂亮,不过摔了个狗啃泥!大家爆笑的同时,再次感到一家人的融洽!”更别提对于健康的巨大益处了。

最后,享受骑行(或步行)

“我们每天沿着滨海道去学校的路上,看见很多父母开车载着孩子绝尘而去,而我们却能够欣赏到美丽的大海,一路上有说有笑,”Neil 说。“很多人都匆匆忙忙,错过了最重要的东西:我们最爱的人,以及我们与他们共度的时光。”

选购故事中的产品

Family Fitness: How to Make Exercise a Family Affair

This Dad Got Healthier—and Ended Up With a Surprising Bonus

I wanted to monitor my heart rate, because it seemed high to me and I was worried about my heart risk.

Neil W.

USA

  • Health Conditions

Neil’s Advice to Others

Neil W.’s son, Oliver, is 15 years old. That’s the same age Neil was when his own father suffered a fatal heart attack. After finding out that he inherited his dad’s high cholesterol, Neil began his own personal fitness crusade, determined to do everything he could to be there for his wife, Marie, their 9-year-old daughter, Emily, and of course, Oliver.

“I have always been relatively sporty, but about two years ago I got interested in fitness trackers and got a Fitbit Surge,” says Neil, 51, a semi-retired entertainment manager. “I wanted to monitor my heart rate, because it seemed high to me and I was worried about my heart risk.” At about 73 beats per minute, Neil’s resting heart rate (RHR) was about average for a middle-aged guy, but far from ideal: A 2007 study of men in the Journal of the American College of Cardiology found that those with a RHR between 70 and 75 beats per minutes had 2.5 times the risk of suffering a sudden heart attack than those with an RHR of 60. A lower heart rate means a stronger heart—if your heart can push more blood with each beat it doesn’t need to do it as often.

After Marie and Oliver saw how much Neil was enjoying his Fitbit tracker, they each got one too (the Charge) and started a family fitness routine of counting their steps and changing habits to see how many they could get in a week. The first thing they did was adjust their morning commute. Instead of driving the kids to school the family of four decided to walk, and bring their new puppy along. “At first we were all just excited to watch the puppy running, jumping and seeing all kinds of things for the first time,” says Neil.

As their steps racked up, Neil realized the family was getting something else even more important out of these walks, togetherness. “It takes 20 to 25 minutes each way, so we get all of that time together. That may not sound that amazing, but how often do you spend time with your entire family without there being a constant interruption? On our walk there are no phones, no video games, no sports on TV—just four family members walking and talking.”

“My kids all of a sudden got my undivided attention and, to some extent, my wife and I got theirs,” says Neil. “What we discovered was a whole new level of caring and understanding of each other. A lot of people think fitness trackers are just about people measuring activity and hitting goals. But my family and I found something far more valuable: time together and a happiness no amount of money can buy.”

Neil’s heart isn’t just fuller than before, it’s measurably healthier. His resting heart rate is now down to 60 beats per minute. His wife, Marie, has lost 14 pounds, and feels amazing. “There’s no better feeling in the world than being loved and showing your love for others. We’ve got that in abundance now.”

BUILD FITNESS INTO YOUR DAY

Neil and his wife have to get to the kids school, so they walk there. When they want to go out to eat in town, they walk there, too. Neil says they never would have fit this much physical activity into their lives if they had to go to a gym to do it. “I’ve used gyms a lot in my life, but they create a lonely sporting environment. I learned an invaluable lesson when I lost my dad when I was only 15 and he was 43, that life with family and friends is more precious than anything.”

MOVE AFTER DINNER

Neil set up a little badminton net in the backyard where he and his family exchange volleys a couple evenings a week. “It’s like dessert after dinner for us,” he says. “Let’s say in one particular rally my son plays a great shot, my daughter returns it and then I blow it—we’ve witnessed two acts of sporting brilliance followed by an old man falling over! What we love about it is that is that once again we’re bring connectivity to the family, and a huge chunk of laughter.” Not to mention a sizable health boost.

FINALLY ENJOY THE RIDE (OR WALK)

“When we walk along the coast road to school every day, we see parents racing past us in cars with their kids in the back while we stare across the beautiful water and talk,” says Neil. “So many people are in a rush and miss out on the important stuff: The people we love and the time we spend we them.”

Neil’s Advice to Others

BUILD FITNESS INTO YOUR DAY

Neil and his wife have to get to the kids school, so they walk there. When they want to go out to eat in town, they walk there, too. Neil says they never would have fit this much physical activity into their lives if they had to go to a gym to do it. “I’ve used gyms a lot in my life, but they create a lonely sporting environment. I learned an invaluable lesson when I lost my dad when I was only 15 and he was 43, that life with family and friends is more precious than anything.”

MOVE AFTER DINNER

Neil set up a little badminton net in the backyard where he and his family exchange volleys a couple evenings a week. “It’s like dessert after dinner for us,” he says. “Let’s say in one particular rally my son plays a great shot, my daughter returns it and then I blow it—we’ve witnessed two acts of sporting brilliance followed by an old man falling over! What we love about it is that is that once again we’re bring connectivity to the family, and a huge chunk of laughter.” Not to mention a sizable health boost.

FINALLY ENJOY THE RIDE (OR WALK)

“When we walk along the coast road to school every day, we see parents racing past us in cars with their kids in the back while we stare across the beautiful water and talk,” says Neil. “So many people are in a rush and miss out on the important stuff: The people we love and the time we spend we them.”

Shop products from the stories